Burna Boy, Davido, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, 3 Other Nigerian Acts Nominated For MOBO Awards

Seven Nigerian acts were nominated at the upcoming MOBO Awards.

Nigerians are leaving a solid mark again on the African music scene after seven of its music acts were nominated in the 2020 Music of Black Origin awards, popularly known as MOBO Awards.

Burna Boy, Davido, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, 3 Other Nigerian Acts Nominated For MOBO Awards 1

Burna Boy and Rema are nominated in the Best International Act category. Both singers are also in the Best African Act Category alongside Wizkid, Davido, Fireboy DML, Adekunle Gold and Tiwa Savage.

The event will be held online on Wednesday, December 9, via YouTube from 7 PM GMT, while the main broadcast will go out on BBC One at 10.45 PM GMT.

Tiwa Savage, Ms Banks and other acts will be performing on that night.

READ:  Gunmen Kidnap 14 Indians, Kill 6 Others Including Policemen At Ceramic Plant In Kogi

See the full list of nominees and categories below.

Best Male Act

  1. Headie One
  2. J Hus
  3. Stormzy
  4. Nines
  5. AJ Tracey
  6. Young T & Bugsey

Best Female Act (In Association With ISAWITFIRST)

  1. Lianne La Havas
  2. Ms Banks
  3. Tiana Major9
  4. Mahalia
  5. Darkoo
  6. FKA Twigs

Album Of The Year

  1. J Hus – ‘Big Conspiracy’
  2. Stormzy – ‘Heavy Is The Head’
  3. Mahalia – ‘Love And Compromise’
  4. Nines – ‘Crabs In A Bucket’
  5. Lianne La Havas – ‘Lianne La Havas’
READ:  EBONYLIFE TV signed with SUMMVIEW to launch a Premium multi-screen VOD platform dedicated to content made in Africa

Song Of The Year

  1. Young T & Bugsey featuring Headie One – ‘Don’t Rush’
  2. Digga D – ‘Woi’
  3. Darkoo featuring Once Acen – ‘Gangsta’
  4. Tion Wayne featuring Stormzy and Dutchavelli – ‘I Dunno’
  5. Abra Cadabra – ‘On Deck’

Best Newcomer (In Association With Arts Council England)

  1. Aitch
  2. Alicai Harley
  3. Darkoo
  4. Dutchavelli
  5. Ivorian Doll
  6. M1llionz
  7. Miraa May
  8. Pa Salieu
  9. Shaybo
  10. Tiana Major9
  11. M Huncho
  12. Loski

Video Of The Year

  1. Bree Runway – ‘Apeshit’
  2. Nines – ‘Clout’
  3. NSG – ‘Lupita’
  4. Jorja Smith – ‘By Any Means’
  5. Knucks – ‘Home’
  6. Kojey Radical – ‘20/20’
READ:  Pastor Obofour Forces Man To Smoke Weed During Church Service [Video]

Best R&B/Soul Act

  1. WSTRN
  2. Tiana Major9
  3. Michael Kiwanuka
  4. Mahalia
  5. Lianne La Havas

Best Hip Hop Act

  1. J Hus
  2. Nines
  3. Ms Banks
  4. D-Block Europe
  5. Krept & Konan
  6. Potter Payper

Best Grime Act

  1. Ghetts
  2. P Money
  3. Manga Saingt Hilare
  4. Capo Lee
  5. JME
READ:  Nigerian Police Reacts After An Officer Was Caught On Camera Smoking Shisha In Public [Video]

Best International Act

  1. Burna Boy
  2. Drake
  3. Koffee
  4. Megan Thee Stallion
  5. Pop Smoke
  6. Popcaan
  7. Roddy Ricch
  8. Rema
  9. Shenseea
  10. Summer Walker
  11. H.E.R
  12. Lil Baby

Best Performance In A TV Show/Flm

  1. Kane Robinson as Scully – Top Boy
  2. Michaela Coel as Arabella – I May Destroy You
  3. Ncuti Gatwa as Eric Effiong – Sex Education
  4. Jessica Plummer as Chantelle – EastEnders
  5. Micheal Ward as Marco – Blue Story
  6. Damson Idris as Franklin Saint – Snowfall

Best Album (2017-2019)

  1. Dave – ‘Psychodrama’
  2. Kano – ‘Hoodies All Summer’
  3. Ella Mai – ‘Ella Mai’
  4. Skepta – ‘Ignorance is Bliss’
  5. Nines – ‘Crop Circle’
  6. Little Simz – ‘Grey Area’
READ:  Davido Joins Trinidad Cardona, Aisha To Performs At FIFA World Cup Draw In Qatar [Video]

Best African Act (In Association With Afrozons)

  1. Burna Boy
  2. Tiwa Savage
  3. Davido
  4. Fireboy DML
  5. Rema
  6. Master KG
  7. Adekunle Gold
  8. NSG
  9. Afro B
  10. Wizkid
  11. Stonebwoy
  12. Shatta Wale

Best Reggae Act

  1. Popcaan
  2. Koffee
  3. Lila Ike
  4. Buju Banton
  5. Protoje

Best Producer

  1. Jae5
  2. 808 Melo
  3. Sir Spyro
  4. TSB
  5. Steel Banglez
  6. M1onthebeat

Meanwhile, globally celebrated Nigerian author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, has been awarded the Women’s Prize for Fiction ‘Winner of Winners’ for her novel ‘Half of a Yellow Sun‘.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

APC Will Retain Power In 2023 If We Keep Our Promises To Nigerians - Babtunde Fashola 4

APC Will Retain Power In 2023 If We Keep Our Promises To Nigerians – Babtunde Fashola

ASUU Extends Strike By 12 Weeks

ASUU Strike: FG Should Ban Children Of Politicians From Studying Abroad – Prof Olu-Olu