Categories: Sports

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala Nominated For 2022 Women’s Ballon d’Or Award [Full List]

Asisat Oshoala has been shortlist for the 2022 Women’s Ballon d’Or award.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons striker, Asisat Oshoala has been listed among the 20 footballers nominated for the 2022 women’s Ballon d’Or award.

Asisat Oshoala Nominated For Ballon D’Or 2022

The 27-year-old Nigerian was nominated for the award because of her exploits with Barcelona Femeni during the just concluded 2021/22 season.

Oshoala won the golden boot in the Spanish Primera Division, despite missing three months of the season due to recurring injuries.

She scored 20 goals in 19 league appearances for Barcelona Femeni and shared the award with Geyse Ferreira of Madrid CFF, who netted 20 goals in 27 appearances.

Other nominees for the women’s Ballon d’Or include Chelsea’s Mille Bright, Alex Morgan of the USA, and the France quartet of Selma Bacha, Kadidiatou Diani, Wendie Renard, and Marie Katoto.

In the men’s category, Lionel Messi was left out of the Ballon d’Or 30-man shortlist for the first time since 2005.

However, Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema lead the list alongside Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland.

Ballon d’Or Award Nominees

Men’s nominees

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold
  • Karim Benzema
  • Joao Cancelo
  • Casemiro
  • Thibaut Courtois
  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Kevin De Bruyne
  • Luis Diaz
  • Fabinho
  • Phil Foden
  • Erling Haaland
  • Sébastien Haller
  • Harry Kane
  • Joshua Kimmich
  • Rafael Leao
  • Robert Lewandowski
  • Riyad Mahrez
  • Mike Maignan
  • Sadio Mané
  • Kylian Mbappé
  • Luka Modric
  • Christopher Nkunku
  • Darwin Nuñez
  • Antonio Rüdiger
  • Mohamed Salah
  • Bernardo Silva
  • Son Heung-min
  • Virgil van Dijk
  • Vinicius Junior
  • Dusan Vlahovic

Women’s nominees

  • Mille Bright
  • Alex Morgan
  • Selma Bacha
  • Kadidiatou Diani
  • Wendie Renard
  • Marie Katoto.
  • Vivianne Miedema
  • Lucy Bronze
  • Sam Kerr
  • Alexandra Popp
  • Aitana Bonmati
  • Wendie Renard
  • Trinity Rodman
  • Fridolina Rolfö
  • Christiane Endler
  • Lena Oberdorf
  • Catarina Macario
  • Alexia Putellas
  • Asisat Oshoala

The winners of both categories will be announced on October 17.

This comes a few weeks after Asisat Oshoala was crowned 2022 CAF Women’s ‘Player of the Year’ for the fifth time after she first won the award in 2014.

Tobias Sylvester

Tobias Sylvester is the news editor for Kanyi Daily News and is based in Lagos. Contact Tobias at Got a confidential tip? Submit it here

Recent Posts

‘Yahoo Boy’ Lands In Jail, Loses N24.3m Cash, Three Exotic Cars in Ilorin

A 30-year-old internet fraudster, popularly known as "Yahoo Boy", Yusuf Yusuf Olarewaju has been convicted…

15 mins ago

Native Doctor Kills Neighbour Because Deceased Always Accused Him Of Stealing

The Ogun State Police Command has arrested a native doctor, Idowu Talabi for killing his…

2 hours ago

Yemi Alade’s Cries Out After Her Room Was Ransacked And Her Money Stolen In Côte d’Ivoire

Popular Nigerian singer, Yemi Alade has taken to social media to cry out after her…

5 hours ago

Singer And Former Mr Universe, Slami Ifeanyi Shot Dead By Gunmen In Anambra

Nigerian singer, songwriter, and former Mr Universe, Slami Ifeanyi has reportedly been shot dead by…

5 hours ago

Mike Igini: INEC’ll Reproduce Burnt PVCs, Attacks Can’t Stop Elections

Former Akwa Ibom State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC),…

5 hours ago

Governor Babagana Zulum Apologizes To Atiku Over Attack On His Convoy In Borno

Borno State Governor, Babagana  Zulum has apologized to the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic…

6 hours ago