Connect with us


#NigeriaDecides2023: Senate President, Ahmad Lawan Re-Elected In Yobe North



The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan has won the senatorial election for Yobe North, in Yobe State.

#NigeriaDecides2023: Senate President, Ahmad Lawan Re-Elected In Yobe North

The Senate President was formally declared winner on Sunday night by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Returning Officer of the zone, Professor Omolola Aduoju of the Federal University Gashua, Yobe State, announced the result at Umar Suleiman College of Education Gashua.

Adunoju said Lawan won the election after polling 91,318 votes to representing 74.7 per cent of the total valid votes (122,193).

Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest votes, Alhaji Ahmad Lawan of the SPC is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Aduoju said.

She said Lawan’s closest opponent, Sheriff Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party, came second with 22,849, while the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) candidate, Garba Umar, scored 7,210 votes.

READ:  21-Year-Old Chidinma Ojukwu Pleads Not Guilty To Murder Of Super TV CEO, Usifo Ataga

Mr Aduoju said Action Democratic Party (ADP) scored three votes even though the party did not field a candidate in the election.

”The total votes cast in the election is 126,677, out of which 122,136 were valid, and 4,541 votes were rejected,” she said.

Lawan, who did not participate in the Yobe North senatorial primary, was nominated for the seat by the APC after he lost the presidential ticket.

He eventually emerged as the party’s senatorial candidate through a Supreme Court ruling, after a running battle with Bashir Machina, who won the primary election.

KanyiDaily had also reported that son of Kano governor, Abba Ganduje lost the House of Representatives seat in Saturday’s election.

READ:  "You Can’t Govern Anambra With Only WAEC Certificate" - Soludo Tells Opponents

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *