Connect with us


INEC Declares APC’s Francis Nwifuru As Winner Of Ebonyi Governorship Election



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Francis Nwifuru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the Ebonyi governorship election.

INEC Declares APC's Francis Nwifuru As Winner Of Ebonyi Governorship Election

The INEC returning officer, Charles Igwe declared Nwifuru as the winner on Monday after results from the 13 LGAs in the state were collated.

Igwe said Nwifuru polled 199, 131 votes, followed by Ifeanyi Odii of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who secured 80, 191 votes, while the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Bernard Odoh, was a distant third with 52, 189 votes.

The total number of valid votes cast in the election was 342, 554, while 7, 387 were rejected, putting the total votes cast at 349, 941.

Nwifuru, who is the speaker of the state assembly, will now replace David Umahi, the outgoing governor of Ebonyi state.

In his acceptance speech, the governor-elect said the election reflects the wishes of the people, adding that his “unalloyed loyalty” will be dedicated to the desire of the people that elected him into office.

KanyiDaily recalls that the INEC had also declared Ogun State Governor, Dapo Abiodun, winner of the governorship election in the state.

READ:  Mali President, Prime Minister, Defence Minister Arrested By Military After Government Reshuffle

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *