Buhari Wins in Kogi State

General Muhammadu Buhari (retd) of the All Progressives Congress was on Monday morning announced the winner of the March 28 Presidential elections in Kogi State.

Maj.-Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd)

The State Collation Officer, Prof. Adikwu Michael, who is the Vice Chancellor of the University of Abuja, made the announcement at the State headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission in Lokoja in the early hours of Monday.

Gen. Buhari polled 264,851 of the total votes cast – 439,287- to defeat President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party, who had 149,987 votes.

The collation, which began on Sunday evening and ended around 4am on Monday morning, saw Buhari win in 15 of the 21 Local Government Areas of the state to poll 60.3 per cent of the total votes while Jonathan could only manage victory in six Local Governments and has 34.1 per cent of the votes cast.

APC won with high margins in most of the LGAs with Okene, Lokoja, Adavi, Kogi-Koton Karfe and Okehi accounting for the highest margins.

Okene gave APC 34, 293 votes as against the 3, 728 votes for the PDP, LOkoja accounted for 24, 658 votes against 5, 112 for PDP, Adavi had 22, 659 votes for Buhari and 7, 767 votes for Jonathan, Kogi-Koton Karfe voted 15, 358 in APC’s favour and 2, 735 for the PDP while Okehi had 17, 801 votes in favour of the retired General while they gave President Jonathan 5, 808 votes.

The PDP however won with slim margins in the five LGAs they had with the highest margin coming from Ibaji Local Government, where they had 13,885 votes to the APC’s 6, 076 votes.

The other Local Governments won by the APC include; Ogori-Magongo, Idah, which is the hometown of Senator Ahmadu Alli, a PDP chieftain, Mopa Moro, Dekina, the LGA of the state Governor, Idris Wada of the PDP, Olamaboro, Ofu, Ajaokuta, Yagba East, Ankpa and Ijumu Local Government Areas.

The other four LGAs where the PDP won are; Yagba West, Igalamela/ Odolu, Bassa and Omala.

Of the 1, 348, 956 voters registered in the state, 476, 839 were accredited to vote while 439, 287 votes were cast with 17, 959 of them rejected.

The event was witnessed by the agents of the two major political parties, the Kogi State Commissioner of Police, Adeyemi Ogunjemilusi, the Director of the Department of State Security in the state, Mr Fubar, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stella Oduah wins Anambra North Senatorial seat

Official INEC Presidential Result For Ekiti State