Connect with us


Banky W, Obanikoro Loses Eti-Osa Federal Constituency To Labour Party’s Thaddeus Attah



Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party (LP) has been declared as winner of the Eti-Osa Federal Constituency seat in the House of Representatives.

Banky W, Obanikoro Loses Eti-Osa Federal Constituency To Labour Party's Thaddeus Attah

The returning officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof Funmilayo Odukoya made the declaration on Sunday at the Collation Centre, Lagos State Model Nursery and Primary School, Marwa, Lekki 1.

Attah won with 24,075 votes o defeat his counterparts, Olubankole Wellington (Banky W) of the Peoples Democratic Party  (PDP), who had 18,666 votes, and Babjide Obanikoro of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who had 16, 901 votes.

“That Thaddeus Attah of LP, having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared winner and is returned elected; signed by me. Thank you so much,” Odukoya said.

She said that other candidates received the following votes: Mr Oladehin Olufemi, African Democratic Congress, 1,422 votes; Mr Azeez Kabirat of New Nigeria Peoples Party, 414 votes, and Mr Olasunkanmi Ololade, Social Democratic Party, 207 votes.

Earlier, there was pandemonium between the party agents and INEC officers over the authenticity of the result, even before it was declared by the presiding officer.

READ:  Dino Melaye Loses Kogi PDP Senatorial Ticket To Reps Member, Tajudeen Yusuf

The agents including APC and PDP refused to accept the announcement of results unless their complaints were addressed.

Speaking to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the PDP agent, Mr Aderemi Adeshina, claimed that some voters were disenfranchised in some polling units in the LGA.

Adeshina, also claimed that results recorded in some units after the elections were not transmitted through the BVAS machine.

“We will not accept the result until another election takes place in all the wards where we were disenfranchised, “ he said.

NAN reports that security agents including the police and army were on the ground to ensure and maintain safety and peace.

KanyiDaily had also reported that the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila has won Surulere 1 federal constituency seat election for the sixth consecutive time under the APC.

READ:  Senate Presidency: Umahi Reveals Why He Accepted Tinubu's Plea To Step Down For Akpabio

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *