Connect with us


Why Buhari Reappointed Idris Musa As NOSDRA DG



President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reappointment of Idris Musa as the Director General of the National Oil Spills Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA).

Idris Musa

This was disclosed in a statement tweet by the Ministry of Environment on its official Twitter handle.

According to the statement, the reappointment of Idris Musa followed his excellent performance in the past four years.

Musa was first appointed on April 1, 2019, for an initial tenure of four years.

READ:  Governor Bello Dumps Deputy, Picks Chief Of Staff As Running Mate For Kogi Guber Election

The statement noted that the reappointment takes effect from April 1, 2023.

“President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the renewal of appointment of Mr. Idris O Musa as Director General of NOSDRA for a second and final term of four years.

“Prominent amongst these were the digitalisation of the agency’s records, review of various forms for oil spills management processes, and the review of environmental sensitivity index map.

“The map is used in the oil-producing areas to protect the vulnerable, sensitive, and fragile ecosystem of the Niger Delta region.

READ:  Breaking News: Atiku Rejects Results Of Presidential Election, Heads To Court

“He also carried out many awareness campaigns on the dangers of vandalism of oil facilities.

“Musa also revolutionised online and real-time processing of environmental compliance documents and management as well as the National Gas Flare Tracker and Oil Spill Monitor.

“These are part of efforts to showcase transparency in environmental management in the oil and gas industry,” the statement read in part.

The statement added that NOSDRA has started the process of tracking methane, a greenhouse gas that raises the earth’s temperature and distorts the climate systems across oil-producing communities in Nigeria.

READ:  Reactions As Yahaya Bello Endorses His Tribesman, Ahead Of His Deputy For Kogi Guber

“The Agency has commenced the preparation for the tracking of methane in the oil-producing areas in Nigeria,” it said.

In other news, Kanyi Daily reported that Lt. Col. Kefas Agbu (retd) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared the winner of last Saturday’s governorship election in Taraba State.

Kefas Agbu was declared the winner of the poll by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

READ:  Japanese Police Blocks Protesting IPOB Members From Attacking President Buhari [Video]

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *