Senate Confirms Buhari’s Nominees as Supreme Court Justices.

The senate of the federal republic of Nigeria today confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominees as justices of the supreme court.

During its plenary session on Tuesday, the Nigerian Senate confirmed  – Ejembi Eko (Benue) and Amina Augie (Kebbi) – as justices of the supreme court.

It was gathered that in a letter dated September 22, President Buhari had sent the names to the senate for confirmation, which was referred to the judiciary, human rights and legal matters committee.

While speaking on the floor of the senate, David Umoru, senate chairman committee on judiciary, human rights and legal matters, said his committee found the justices worthy to be judges in the supreme court after “careful scrutiny”, adding that the committee did not receive any petition against them.

TheCable News reported that the senate approved of the nominees after it was put to electronic voting, with the candidates scoring 38 to 0 and 39 to 1, respectively.

Also, the senate has received President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominees for commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and the National Population Commission (NPC).

The nominees for INEC commissioners are Okechukwu Ibeanu (Anambra), May Agbamuche (Delta), Ahmed Mu’azu (Gombe), Mohammed Haruna (Niger), Adekunle Ogunmola (Oyo) and Abubakar Nahuche.

The nominees for NPC commissioners are Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom), Gloria Izonfuo (Bayelsa), Kupchi Iyanya (Benue), Haliru Bala (Kebbi) and Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo).

The confirmation of nominees sought by Buhari is in accordance with Sections 153 and 154 of the 1999 constitution as amended.

READ  EFCC Re-arrests Fani-Kayode

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Aisha Buhari Makes Public Appearance after Controversial BBC Interview, Jets Off To Belgium

Justice Dimgba Narrates His Ordeal in the Hands of DSS