More Trouble For PDP As Imo Speaker, Seven Lawmakers Defects To APC

APC is now in control of Imo State House of Assembly.

The speaker of the House of Assembly, has dumped the People’s Democratic Party ().

Mr Collins Chiji defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (), alongside Seven other lawmakers, during a plenary on Tuesday, January 28, 2020.

This is coming barely 24 hours after Imo PDP chairman, Charles Ezekwem resigned from the party and joined the ruling party, APC.

Apart from the speaker, others who announced their defection on Tuesday are Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West) Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibe (Obowo) Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

With the defections, APC now has 18 lawmakers with PDP having eight in the Imo State House of Assembly.

The latest detections comes barely two weeks after the supreme court sacked Emeka Ihedioha of the PDP as governor of the state and affirmed Hope Uzodinma, candidate of the APC, as winner of the 2019 governorship election.

Imo Governor-Elect Has No Powers Yet To Issue Directives To Banks – Okorocha Warns Ihedioha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

How Abia University VC Impregnated 300-Level Student, Upgraded Her To Final Year, Sent Her Abroad

“People Who Say Divorce Is A Sin Will Only Cry When You Get Killed” – Toke Makinwa