Chelsea Dominates UEFA Men’s Awards As Jorginho Wins Best Player Of The Year

Jorginho has been named as UEFA’s men’s footballer of the year as Chelsea dominates the UEFA award.

Chelsea Football Club has dominated the 2021 UEFA Men’s awards as Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Eduard Mendy, and Thomas Tuchel all went home with silverware.

Chelsea Dominates UEFA Men's Awards As Jorginho Wins Best Player Of The Year

Jorginho beat his teammate N’Golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne to be crowned the Men’s Player of the Year after he won the Champions League with Chelsea and the European Championship with Italy.

The 29-year-old Italian midfielder also started the new season by claiming a third Uefa trophy of the year when Tuchel’s side lifted the Super Cup in Belfast.

Jorginho and Kante are expected to be in the running for the Ballon d’Or later this year, but the Italian now already has one individual honour to his name.

Chelsea team-mate Edouard Mendy was named goalkeeper of the year after keeping nine clean sheets during the run to lifting the Champions League and France’s Kante was named midfielder of the year.

READ:  Watch: Funny Video Of Two Kids Performing Wrestling Match Goes Viral

Ruben Dias of Manchester City was named defender of the year after helping the club to their first Champions League final in his debut season with them.

Chelsea boss Tuchel was named men’s coach of the year after guiding his side to victory over Manchester City in Porto just four months after replacing Frank Lampard as manager.

Erling Haaland of Borussia Dortmund was named forward of the year.

Meanwhile, Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and the medical team that saved Christian Eriksen‘s life during Euro 2020 were awarded the Uefa President’s Award by Aleksander Ceferin.

READ:  Manchester City Coach, Pep Guardiola Donates €1 Million To Help Fight Coronavirus In Spain

Full List Of 2020/21 UEFA Men’s Award Winners:

Player of the year – Jorginho (Chelsea)

Coach of the year – Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Goalkeeper of the year – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Defender of the year – Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Midfielder of the year – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Forward of the year – Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

President’s award – Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and medical team

KanyiDaily had reported how Chelsea and Manchester City stars dominated the nominations for the UEFA Champions League player for the 2020/21 season.

READ:  Chelsea, Man City Stars Dominate Champions League Player Award Nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

"I Made Best Decision For Myself" - Fancy Acholonu Confirms Breakup With Alexx Ekubo

“I Made Best Decision For Myself” – Fancy Acholonu Confirms Breakup With Alexx Ekubo

Buhari Incorporates NNPC Limited, Appoints Ararume, Okadigbo, Kyari Into Board

President Buhari Congratulates NNPC For Recording First Profit Of N287bn In 44 Years