Connect with us


Wild Jubilation Among Residents As APC’s David Lyon Wins Bayelsa Governorship Election



Wild Jubilation Among Residents As APC's David Lyon Wins Bayelsa Governorship Election 3

Residents of Bayelsa have been thrown into jubilation as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), David Lyon has won the highest number of votes in Bayelsa governorship election.

The APC candidate defeated his closest rival, Duoye Diri, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) by around 200,000 votes at the end of the announcement of results from the local government areas.

From the results announced at the collation centre in Yenagoa on Sunday, Mr. Lyon has won in six of the eight local governments while Diri won in only two.

Below are the results of the election in each local government.

Sagbama LGA

APC – 7, 831

PDP- 60, 339

Brass LGA

APC – 23, 831

PDP- 10, 410

Nembe LGA

APC – 83, 041

PDP- 874

Ekeremor LGA

APC – 21, 489

PDP- 18, 344

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA

APC – 8, 934

PDP- 15, 360

Ogbia LGA

APC – 58, 016

PDP- 13, 763

Southern-Ijaw LGA

APC – 124, 803

PDP- 4, 898

Yenagoa LGA

APC – 24, 607

PDP- 19, 184

In summary, APC polled 352,552 while PDP secured 143,170 votes, leaving a margin of 209,382.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *