INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates Participating In Osun Governorship Election

INEC has released the final list of candidates and the parties that would partake in the 2022 Osun gubernatorial poll.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates eligible to participate in the July 16 governorship election in Osun state.

INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates Participating In Osun Governorship Election

INEC Names Candidates For Osun Guber Election

INEC National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Mr. Festus Okoye, who disclosed this in a statement on Tuesday, April 12, said only 15 out of the 18 political parties would participate in the poll.

Okoye said the publication of the final list was due to the close of nominations by parties and in compliance with the Electoral Act 2022.

He said: “The Commission wishes to remind political parties that under Section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list “shall notify the commission in writing, signed by its National Chairman and Secretary, supported with an affidavit not later than 90 days to the election.”

READ:  Police Publicly Release Names Of Arrested Politicians Behind Cult Killings In Anambra

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the Commission shall not be ground to invalidate the election.

“The final list is published in our state and local government offices in Osun State as well as our website and social media platforms for public information as required by law.”

The list shows that Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Governor Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and 13 other candidates — all male — are vying for the governorship position.

However, there are six female candidates vying for the position of deputy governor.

READ:  President Buhari Allegedly Sacks Senior Aide, Obono-Obla Over Massive Corruption

List Of Candidates For Osun Governorship Election

AAkinade OgunbiyiJimoh Adekunle
AACAwojide SegunFakiyesi Gideon
ADPKehinde AtandaAgbaje Claret
APCAdegboyega OyetolaBenedict Alabi
APMAwoyemi LukumanAkinloye Adesola
APPAdebayo ElishaAkinpelu Hezekiah
BPAdeleke AdedapoLateef Adenike
LPYussuff LasunAdeola Atanda
NNPPRasaq SaliuOlatunbosun Olusolape
NRMAbede SamuelAmoo Omolara
PDPAdeleke AdedamolaAdewusi Adegboega
PRPAyowole AdedejiOlowu Aiyedun
SDPOmigbodun AkinrinolaOni Adesoye
YPPAdemola AdeseyeStella Adeagbo
ZLPAdesuyi OlufemiFakolade Kemi

KanyiDaily recalls that the INEC had also released the final list of 18 candidates who would participate in the governorship election in Ekiti State.

READ:  We Dodged A Rocket-Propelled Granade In February - Bashir Ahmad Reacts To Leaked Audio Of Obi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mr Eazi Receives £1000 Engagement Gift From His Doctor After Proposing To Temi Otedola

Mr Eazi’s Doctor Sends Him £1000 As Engagement Gift After Proposing To Temi Otedola

President Buhari Condemns Plateau Killings, Says ‘Perpetrators Must Not Be Forgiven'

Buhari Condemns Plateau Killings, Vows That ‘Perpetrators Must Not Be Forgiven’