Connect with us


#NigeriaDecides2023: Godswill Akpabio Wins Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial Election



A former minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio has won the senatorial election in Akwa Ibom North-West District.

#NigeriaDecides2023: Godswill Akpabio Wins Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial Election

Akpabio, who contested the election under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), defeated his closest rival, Emmanuel Enoidem of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He scored 115,401 votes, while Mr Enoidem scored 69,838 votes in the election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Collation Officer, Professor Anthony Udoh, who announced the results on Monday morning said Akpabio satisfied all conditions to be declared the winner of the elections.

Though the APC won the Akwa Ibom North West Senatorial District, the PDP won the remaining two senatorial seats of Akwa Ibom South and Akwa Ibom North East.

READ:  Petroleum Minister, Timipre Sylva Says He Won't Feel Bad Buying Fuel At N300 Per Litre

In his reaction shortly after his declaration, Akpabio thanked the people of his district who for electing him.

He said, “I stand before you all this morning to personally and publicly register my appreciation for the show of love and support which led to my victory today.

“I am very grateful because you did not allow your conscience to be bought over even when they brought money from Uyo. You rejected their money and voted for me.”

He added “serious attempts were made by the state government to truncate this victory just as they did in 2019, but your resolve to protect this mandate has led to this well deserved victory. I am very grateful and I won’t take this for granted.”

KanyiDaily had also reported that the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan won the senatorial election for Yobe North, in Yobe State.

READ:  Kebbi Assembly Impeaches Speaker, Ismail Kamba And Deputy Muhammadu Aliyu

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *