Connect with us


BREAKING: INEC Declares Seyi Makinde Winner Of Oyo Governorship Election



The incumbent governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde has been declared winner of the governorship election in the state.

BREAKING: INEC Declares Seyi Makinde Winner Of Oyo Governorship Election

Makinde, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), was successfully re-elected in the poll which took place on Saturday.

Makinde secured 563,756 votes to clinch victory, while Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came second with 256,685 votes, and Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party came a distant third with 38,357 votes.

Makinde secured victory in 31 of the 33 LGAs in the state, while the APC won two LGAs.

Adebayo Bamire, INEC returning officer for the Oyo governorship election, announced the final result around 3:30pm on Sunday.

“I, Adebayo Bamire, the returning officer, hereby, declare that Makinde Oluseyi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected,” the returning officer said.

KanyiDaily recalls that Nollywood actor and politician, Desmond Elliot won his third term bid to represent the people of the Surulere constituency at the Lagos state house of assembly.

READ:  VP Osinbajo Gives Testimony In Church After Surviving Helicopter Crash In Kogi State

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *